AW4416 and DA-88 sync

8 replies [Last post]
Offline
Joined: 03/04/2004

Hi,

I'm kinda new to digital recording and i'm trying to use a DA-88 to record some extra tracks for a recording already made to the AW4416. How can I do this?

I've got the SY-88 sync card for the da-88 and the t/dif interface for the AW4416.

They're sync'd using word clock, but can I sync timecodes (or something) so that when I hit rec on the AW4416 the DA-88 starts recording? If not, what is the best that can be done?

Offline
Joined: 02/12/2009

I've not used the AW4416 so I took a look at the specs at Zzounds.com:
http://www.zzounds.com/a--3778/item--YAMAW4416HDCD
(That description is for a newer model, the AW4416HDCD, but I'll assume the specs are similar. Double check your model.)

It looks like the AW4416 only has MIDI timecode, not SMPTE. But that's OK because if your DA-88 has the SY-88 sync card option, then it has MTC too.

Read up on how to do this with these links:

How to set the SY-88 dip switches to do MTC instead of SMPTE: download the manual, see appendix 3 on page 33 (A-6) and check the internal DIP switches S2 + S3, also external S1 #6):
http://www.silentway.com/definitive-dtrs-guide-chapter-6-timecode-submenu

Also see this other post here on this forum regarding syncing a AW4416 with a DA-78 (later cousin of the DA-88):
http://www.silentway.com/forum/long-distance-synchronization-w-da88-da78-yamaha-aw4416

n/a
Offline
Joined: 03/04/2004

Thanks a lot! :D

I don't have the gear next to me right now (i'm at home) but when I was checking if this was possible, i remember the AW4416 had a MIDI MTC jack and the SY-88 only had MIDI IN, OUT and THRU... Should MTC be the way to work anyway?

Offline
Joined: 02/12/2009

Yep, that's it- if the AW4416 just has an in, it'll chase the DA-88. If it just has an out, the DA-88 wil chase it. If it has both, it's your call.

n/a
Offline
Joined: 03/04/2004

That means í'll hook the AW4416 MTC OUT to the DA-88 MIDI IN? Is that right? I still can't make it work... i've tryied a lot of things, even using the DA-88 to send the MTC to the Yamaha.

Do I have to worry about how the tape was formatted or something like that? When the tape is playing, the TC display keeps showing -- -- -- --.

Offline
Joined: 02/12/2009

leolobato wrote:That means í'll hook the AW4416 MTC OUT to the DA-88 MIDI IN? Is that right?

Yes.

leolobato wrote:
Do I have to worry about how the tape was formatted or something like that? When the tape is playing, the TC display keeps showing -- -- -- --.

Ah, that means you have not striped the tape with timecode.

I've not tried this exact setup (I'm more familiar with SMPTE), but in general there are two ways to sync the DA-88 externally:

1) Stripe the tape with timecode on it's internal timecode track via the functionality of the SY-88.

2) Translate ABS timecode to SMPTE timecode on the fly without prestriping.

#2 might not work with MIDI timecode. Decide on a common timecode framerate and try striping the track. The details are in the manuals, here are links to them:

The SY-88 manual:
http://clients.silentway.com/sw/manuals/SY-88.PDF

The SY-88 version 4 addendum:
http://clients.silentway.com/sw/manuals/SY-88V4.pdf

Also, double-check that you have the 4.01 version of the SY-88 software, because as I recall MIDI functionality was one of the later functions to be implemented (perhaps at version 3 or 4?):
http://www.silentway.com/definitive-dtrs-guide-chapter-4-hidden-functions

It's tricky but it should work eventually!

n/a
Offline
Joined: 03/04/2004

We've striped the tape and now the DA-88 is chasing the Yamaha. It's a great progress! :lol:

The only thing not working yet is the recording. When I hit record on the Yamaha, nothing happens on the DA-88... Any ideas?

As soon as we get this working, I'll post the final setup here for future reference.

Thanks a lot Tony. :D

Offline
Joined: 02/12/2009

Ah yes, that's a different matter. For control of functions like play/stop/record/FF/RW etc, you need Midi Machine Control (MMC). This is different than MTC. For that, see the SY-88 manual page 33 (Appendix 3). And hopefully the other device has details in its manual.

I'll warn you ahead of time that this is more complicated than setting up MTC. For example, you'll need to match the "record" command that the master device sends to the command that the DA-88/SY-88 listens for to start recording. Ditto for each other command. Then they are speaking the same language.

There are important settings on the master device (your Yamaha), so I can't help you out there. If you get stuck, you'll have to ask Yamaha:

Yamaha's AW4416 page

Good Luck!

n/a
Offline
Joined: 03/04/2004

Hey Tony,

Thanks for all the help, we've got it working.

Internal dip-switches are on default, the external dip switch #2 is up, and we've used only MMC (at least the MTC cable is not connected and not routed on the yamaha to the midi out). All commands are working perfectly well after we've striped the timecode on the tape, except the record button, but we just have to hit it on the da-88, so it's not big deal.

Thanks again. :)

Share this